Oct 052012
 
civiv-engagement

Join us for a conference call among PCNers and our allies:

Civic Engagement Communications: Sharing Best Practices
October 17, 2012, 5 PM – 6 PM ET, 4 PM to 5 PM CT, 3 PM to 4 PM MT, 2 PM to 3 PM PT

Three longtime PCNers will start off the conversation — each will share one example of effective communications strategy in support of civic engagement of communities of color and working class communities.

  • Matt Nelson, currently with Color of Change
  • Ludovic Blain, currently with Color of Democracy
  • Tracy Van Slyke, currently with The New Bottom Line

After hearing their examples, we’ll open up the call to discussion among call participants. That’s your chance to ask questions, present your work, and connect with other progressive communicators.

Who’s invited:

PCNers (anyone who has been to a PCN gathering or is involved in a local chapter) as well as other people involved in progressive communications focused on civic engagement and communities of color.

Why this call?

When the PCN Leadership Council met this summer, we looked at where there was interest in the network, and where there are opportunities for PCNers to work together to enhance social justice communications.

We decided to focus on supporting civic engagement — not just communications to increase voter turnout but ongoing organizing and communications to engage communities of color and working class communities in the full spectrum of civic participation. Many PCNers already have elements of this in our work in one form or another. There are possibilities to explore, and we’ll build toward chances to support grassroots groups who are building political power for communities of color.

And we’ll tap the network for models of how we can craft effective and realistic communications support for groups that PCNers engage with.

Please RSVP using the form below if you wish to join the call. We are not publishing call-in details on the web — you must RSVP to be on the call.

Fill out my online form.

If you have questions or comments, contact us.

 Leave a Reply

(required)

(required)

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>